The four stages of water polo player development in England


England Programmes Water Polo involves four stages of development for players from U14 to senior age groups. The stages ultimately lead to selection to senior national teams. The long term aim of the programme is to achieve international success and re-establish a funded world class programme.


The four stages are:

1. Regional Academy Training


Each of the seven regions run monthly training sessions for their top U14 and U16 male and female players.


2. Regional Academy Competitions


The top 60 girls and boys from the Regional Academies will compete in ‘Regional Academy Competition’ (RAC) three times a year. These act as a step for consideration to the National Academy and National Squads.


3. National Academy Training


The top 30 boys and girls from the RACs will be invited to train with the National Academy at three training camps before selection to an England squad to compete at the School Games in September.


4. National Squads


The national training squads are the top level of the performance pathway in England. U17, U19 and senior national squads train every month and work towards competing at European international competitions. Players from the national squads are not eligible to train at the National Academy sessions or be selected to play in the Regional Academy Competitions

For more details relating to the player path way, please click on the icon " What's my path" in the top left hand of this page.


© 2017 Morley Water Polo Club is a division of Morley Amateur Swimming club which was founded in 1892